Making YouTube Videos Safer for Classroom

Are you irritated with YouTube’s adds, auto play of next video, and the videos (of questionable levels of appropriateness) visible along the side?

As I have discussed in previous posts, I use videos e-mailed to my students and on my Promethean board for research purposes. Especially in my Brazil unit, some of those frustrations listed above has inhibited the freedom at which I can use these videos.

My colleague who has guest posted on here (iPads in Kindergarten), shared this site with me. Safeshare.tv allows you to take any YouTube video and re-link it in their server so that none of the above frustrations show. Take any YouTube video and copy it into the page below! Do it. Then hit “generate safe link” (with or without your typed description).

http://safeshare.tv/

Now you have a link that children can watch and NOT: explore other suggested videos, see adds, have autoplay immediately begin after completion, and frustrate the teacher.

safeShare_logo

Leave a Reply

